Deep Fat

April 26, 2008

I bought an electric deep fryer tonight for 24.99 from the Wal-Mart in Panorama City. I’ve been meaning to get one for so long. I’m glad I’m doing things instead of just talking about them. I christened it with a batch of fries from a single large russet potato I had lying around.  They turned out pretty good. Sometimes I feel like a vegetarian junk food scientist trying to make the best pizza, fries, and chicken fried seitan. Do to my close proximity to Vallarta supermarket (the Mexican store) I’m planning on picking up some  masa harina, balling it up with some water and salt and frying some homestyle corn chips. I don’t know to much about growing tomatoes but if I can figure out how to grow some on the patio I’m going to made a buttload of salsa. Some concepts I am really digging right now are population density which makes public transportation more efficient and makes walking and cycling a more feasible option. I used to like big houses when I was a kid but now I’m for smaller home sizes and I think high rises are a better idea than suburban spawl. I am for community gardens and against big useless lawns and riding mowers unless the lawns can pretty much grow on their own without wasting to much water. I’d rather see low water yards maybe with rockscapes and neighborhood playfields

Leave a Reply

